By using our site you accept the terms of our cookie policy

President's Health and Safety Award for Clarkson Evans

June 22, 2016

Share this page:

Electrical contractor Clarkson Evans has been successful in the 60th year of the RoSPA Occupational Health and Safety Awards.

The company, based in Gloucester, achieved the President's Award (for 10 consecutive Golds) in the prestigious annual scheme run by the Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents (RoSPA).

They will be presented with the award during a ceremony at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, on July 13, 2016, as the event marks its diamond anniversary.

The RoSPA Awards is celebrating 60 years of presenting highly-regarded and sought after accolades to businesses and organisations which have shown commitment to accident and ill-health prevention.

Through the scheme, which is open to businesses and organisations of all types and sizes from across the UK and overseas, judges consider entrants’ overarching occupational health and safety management systems, including practices such as leadership and workforce involvement.

Health and safety awards

Julia Small, RoSPA’s head of awards and events, said: “To win an award at such a highly-regarded event as the RoSPA Awards is a great achievement for our winners. It recognises their commitment to maintaining an excellent health and safety record and raises the bar for other organisations to aspire to. We offer them our congratulations."

“This year was doubly special for our winners as their achievements were recognised as the RoSPA Awards celebrated its diamond anniversary, which is a ringing endorsement of the thousands of businesses and organisations that have committed to continuous improvement in accident and ill-health prevention.”

“We take our health and safety responsibilities extremely seriously and it is a huge honour for us to have achieved the President’s Award in RoSPA’s diamond anniversary year,” said Matthew Gilbank, Health & Safety Manager at Clarkson Evans.

The majority of awards are non-competitive and mark achievement at merit, bronze, silver and gold levels. Gold medals, president’s awards and orders of distinction are presented to organisations sustaining the high standards of the gold level over consecutive years.

Competitive awards go to the best entries in 24 industry sectors including construction, healthcare, transport and logistics, engineering, manufacturing and education.